Winter 2018 Awards

The Braves saw three teams make finals this season (with Senior D narrowly missing out) but despite closely contested battles, was not able to convert these into a trophy. Irrespective of this, we have plenty to celebrate this season. We saw some outstanding development amongst our players, with several being offered development opportunities and thriving in their new team environments. Each year we highlight select achievements, but a huge thank you must be extended to all of our players for buying in to the program we are trying to develop. We look forward to continued success in future seasons.


The Mick Costello Award recognises the contribution our players make to the club. In 2018 this award was presented to Gav Brien. Gav has coached the Senior D team for a number of years, and has been an advocate for the pathways between various levels of the club. Intending to take a season off coaching this year, Gav stepped up to fill a vacancy in the Senior D team to ensure we continued to provide support and guidance to our developing players.


The Phil McKay Award recognises the contribution of our non-playing volunteers. In 2018 this was awarded to Simon Holmes. Having won the award in 2017, Simon continues to show outstanding dedication to his role as Head Coach, and supported various club initiatives including coach development, merchandising, culture, as well as standing on the bench for no less than three teams during what was a transitional year. Made a life member of IHV in 2018, the Braves are proud to call Simon one of our own and thank him for tackling the year with enthusiasm.


Congratulations to the following players for an outstanding 2018 Winter season:

Team MVP Highest Points Best Defence Coaches Award
Premier A Steve Belic Adrian Nash Michael McDowell Travis Dangstorp
Senior B Steve Wright Damon Gribble Matthew Craig Holly Bolton
Senior C Alex Barnes Paul McCorquodale Rémi Béland Mathew Blair
Senior D Tom Robertson John Belic Michael Best Kia van der Vliet


Congratulations to Conor O’Brien for achieving the best goaltending results at the club.


We would also like to acknowledge the oustanding efforts of Adrian Nash who was awarded IHV’s Hugh Spot Lloyd Memorial Trophy for being the highest point scorer in Premier A this year. Adrian recorded 10 goals, 17 assists for 27 points during the 15 games of the regular season.