Winter 2019 Awards

Our Winter 2019 season saw us send 3 teams to finals once again, with the Senior C team going a step further than 2018 to progress to the Grand Final. While we were not able to secure a trophy, we continue to see development throughout the playing group and look forward to continuing this into 2020. Each year we highlight the achievements of a select group of players, but a thank you must be extended to the entire squad for their commitment to our program.

Mick Costello Award

The Mick Costello Award recognises the contribution our players make to the club. For Winter 2019, this has been awarded to Alex Milton. For the past three seasons, Alex has taken on the responsibility of eSportsDesk site management for the Braves, as well as winter season Benchapp and schedule development. On top of these regular responsibilities, this season Alex worked with IHV to manage system and procedural issues that saw Braves players being disassociated from their teams, other players disappearing entirely, and statistics being misreported. He developed a good working relationship with IHV’s ESD coordinator to ensure all issues were promptly resolved allowing the Braves to field our strongest teams each week.

Phil McKay Award

The Phil McKay Award recognises the contribution of our non-playing volunteers. For Winter 2019 this was awarded to Wez Holmes. A player in the summer development competition, Wez usually devotes the winter season to his Melbourne Mustangs volunteer responsibilities. However this year Wez provided tremendous support to the Braves teams, including relief coaching (often at short notice), volunteering to manage penalty boxes, ferrying equipment between rinks, plus much more. On top of this, Wez was regularly seen at the rinks supporting Braves teams at all levels.

Best Goaltender

Congratulations to Fraser Ohlson for achieving the best goaltending results at the club, with a 0.864 SV% for the season.

Playing Awards

Congratulations to the following players for an outstanding season:

Grade MVP Highest Points Best Defence Coach’s Award
A Fraser Ohlson Andrew Belic (14) Michael McDowell Chris Drake
B Daniel Fuentes Alex Barnes (22) Martin Kucera Stefaan White
C Lucas Dobson Lucas Dobson (19) Michael Best Leigh Crossley
D Ash Spiteri John Belic (13) Ben Kirker Aaron Cowell